Best Boys Basketball Program 2015

Final Results

Congratulations to Faith Academy (Ala.), winner of the 2015 Best Boys Basketball Program. Read More...


School (State) Votes
Faith Academy (AL) 568,591
St. Catherine's (WI) 423,430
Greensboro Day School (NC) 76,606
Wyoming Indian (WY) 61,380
Faith Christian (CO) 47,722
James Madison Memorial (WI) 42,090
Ames (IA) 32,217
Oak Hill Academy (VA) 8,777
Mount Mansfield Union (VT) 5,673
Mercer Island (WA) 5,193



School Votes
Faith Academy (Ala.) 85,463
St. Catherine's (Wis.) 71,252
Ames (Iowa) 40,674
Oak Hill Academy (Va.) 29,457
Faith Christian (Colo.) 27,805
Wyoming Indian (Wyo.) 26,076
Mercer Island (Wash.) 23,067
Mount Mansfield Union (Vt.) 10,636
Greensboro Day School (N.C.) 38,121
James Madison Memorial (Wis.) 37,291



School (State) Votes
Faith Academy (Alabama)  17,070
Bartlett (Alaska)  70
Pinnacle (Arizona)  4,401
North Little Rock (Arkansas)  6,885
De La Salle Catholic (California)  8,337
Faith Christian (Colorado)  63,570
Fairfield College Preparatory School (Connecticut)  153
Sanford School (Delaware)  1,321
Montverde Academy (Florida)  260
Miller Grove (Georgia)  2,594
Punahou School (Hawaii)  112
Twin Falls (Idaho)  839
Whitney M. Young Magnet (Illinois)  4,400
North Central (Indiana)  3,416
Ames (Iowa)  64,243
McPherson (Kansas)  22,896
Covington Catholic (Kentucky)  18,493
Peabody Magnet (Louisiana)  542
Portland (Maine)  1,265
DeMatha Catholic (Maryland)  3,143
Central Catholic (Massachusetts)  12
Detroit Country Day School (Michigan)  16,861
DeLaSalle (Minnesota)  3,069
Velma Jackson (Mississippi)  13,474
Scott County Central (Missouri)  3,611
Hellgate (Montana)  1,129
Omaha Central (Nebraska)  46
Galena (Nevada)  335
Manchester Central (New Hampshire)  13
The Patrick School (New Jersey)  81
Hope Christian (New Mexico)  431
Long Island Lutheran (New York)  2,749
Greensboro Day School (North Carolina)  15,583
Bismarck (North Dakota)  37
Villa Angela-St. Joseph 3,313
Putnam City West (Oklahoma)  12,395
Jesuit (Oregon)  83
Lower Merion (Pennsylvania)  37,854
Bishop Hendricken (Rhode Island)  18
Dorman (South Carolina)  3,782
White River (South Dakota)  18,642
Mitchell (Tennessee)  8,364
Cedar Hill (Texas)  1,380
South Sevier (Utah)  14,066
Mount Mansfield Union (Vermont)  17,605
Oak Hill Academy (Virginia)  6,169
Mercer Island (Washington)  13,106
St. John's College (Washington DC)  7,613
Huntington Prep (West Virginia)  117
St. Catherine's (Wisconsin)  43,570
Wyoming Indian (Wyoming)  49,071


Wild cards Votes
Sierra (Colorado) 57,353
Pershing (Michigan) 14,507
Roman Catholic (Pennsylvania) 12,557
St. Thomas More (South Dakota) 12,741
James Madison Memorial (Wisconsin) 25,044

About the Best Boys Basketball Program Contest:

Who has the best boys basketball program in the country? USA TODAY High School Sports is giving fans the opportunity to decide. The next installment of the “Best Of” contest series will be the Best Boys Basketball Program. Each state, as well as Washington D.C., will have five schools. The contest will start with 255 schools, with the overall strength of all the individual basketball programs as the criteria for inclusion.


  • On-court success (all levels)
  • Coaching/Player Development 
  • Fans/Attendance (community support)
  •  Facilities/Training/Uniforms

There will be three rounds of voting:

Round Dates:

State: Jan. 12 – Jan. 20

Regional: Jan. 21 – Jan. 29

National: Jan. 30 – Feb. 9

State Round – Begins at 12 p.m. (ET) Jan. 12, 2014 and ends at 2 p.m. (ET) Jan. 20.  At the end of the first round, the 51 schools with the most votes in each state will advance to the Regional Voting, along with the top five schools that received the highest number of votes, but did not win their region. A total of 56 schools advance to the regional round.

Regional Round – Begins at 12 p.m. (ET) Jan. 21, 2014 and ends at 2 p.m. (ET) Jan. 29. The schools that receive the highest number of eligible votes from each region (one per region) will advance to the final round. The next two highest vote getters (no matter what region) will receive a wild card, and advance to the final round. Ten total schools will advance to the final round. 

Final Round - Begins at 12 p.m. (ET) Jan. 30, 2014 and ends at 2:00 p.m. (E.T.) Feb. 9. The school that receives the highest number of eligible votes from the final voting round will be the winner.


First Place: The Athletic Dept. of the high school will receive $1,000 and a banner

Second Place: The Athletic Dept. of the high school will receive $500 and a banner

Third Place: The Athletic Dept. of the high school will receive $250 and a banner

Contributors: Chris Cuellar, Austin Danforth, David Fuentes, Jason Franchuk, Paul Gotham (, Jeff Lockridge, A. Stacy Long, Sean Moran (, Manny Navarro, Richard Obert, Walter Villa, Jason Wolf 

About the “Best Of” Contest Series:

More than 2,500 schools have been involved in at least one of the America's Best contests, with past champions hailing from Virginia, Missouri, Vermont, Illinois (three times), Kentucky, North Carolina, Oklahoma and Kansas.